Misa Sugiura, Katie Nelson, and Kate Watson in Conversation

We're thrilled to welcome YA authors Misa Sugiura, Katie Nelson, and Kate Watson, who will join us to discuss their new books and the contemporary YA lit scene!

Misa's book, It's Not Like It's a Secret, is a coming-of-age story featuring two girls of color falling in love, part To All the Boys I've Loved Before and part Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. Sixteen-year-old Sana Kiyohara has too many secrets. Some are small, like how it bothers her when her friends don't invite her to parties. Some are big, like the fact that her father may be having an affair. And then there's the one that she can barely even admit to herself--the one about how she might have a crush on her best friend. "Smart, funny, authentically messy, and sweetly romantic." --Kelly Loy Gilbert, Morris Award nominated author of Conviction

Katie's book, The Duke of Bannerman Prep, has been called a "contemporary retelling of The Great Gatsby." Recruited into an elite prep school after winning a high-profile competition in public school, Tanner ambitiously pursues a scholarship only to be partnered with an undermotivated party boy everyone calls the Duke throughout an important championship. As Tanner gets sucked into the Duke’s flashy world, the thrill of the high life and the adrenaline of the edge becomes addictive. But the Duke’s castle is built on shady, shaky secrets, and the walls are about to topple. "A dark, surprising, suspense-filled twist on our American obsession with living extraordinary lives." ―Sonya Mukherjee, author of Gemini

Kate Watson's new book, Seeking Mansfield. is a YA retelling of Mansfield Park featuring a diverse protagonist, a compelling balance between serious issues and light-hearted, teen-appropriate comedy, and all the swoon-worthy romance a reader could ask for. It's perfect for fans of Jane Austen's work, romantic comedies, film, musical theater, and character-driven YA novels.

"A commendable adaptation of a 200-year-old tale made fresh for a 21st-century audience." -- Kirkus Reviews

 

Event date: 

Sunday, June 25, 2017 - 3:00pm

Event address: 

The Book Stall
811 Elm Street
Winnetka, IL 60093
It's Not Like It's a Secret Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062473417
Availability: On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
Published: Harper Teen - May 9th, 2017

This charming and bittersweet coming-of-age story featuring two girls of color falling in love is part To All the Boys I've Loved Before and part Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda.


The Duke of Bannerman Prep Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781510710405
Availability: On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
Published: Sky Pony Press - May 9th, 2017

Words are weapons. Facts can be manipulated. And nothing is absolute--especially right and wrong.


Seeking Mansfield Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781635830026
Availability: On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
Published: Flux - May 16th, 2017

Sixteen-year-old Finley Price has perfected two things: how to direct a world-class production, and how to fly way, way under the radar. The only person who ever seems to notice Finley is her best friend and godparents' son, Oliver Bertram. Since Finley moved in with her godparents after the death of her father, she and Oliver have grown close.