The Lure (Hardcover)

The Lure Cover Image
$17.99
Email or call for price.

Description


From bestselling author Lynne Ewing comes a gritty, sexy novel perfect for fans of books like Perfect Chemistry—about a teen forced to become a "lure," a beautiful girl used by her street gang to seduce and entrap rival gang members.

The Lure tells the story of fifteen-year-old Blaise Montgomery, who lives on the dangerous outskirts of Washington, DC, where a stray bullet can steal a life on the way to school and death lurks around every corner. Drugs and violence are the only ways to survive, so Blaise and her friends turn to gangs for safety, money, and love. And when Blaise is accepted into one of the toughest gangs in the city, she's finally part of a crew. A family.

But as Blaise is put in increasingly dangerous situations, particularly as her gang's newest lure, she begins to see there's more to lose than she ever realized. Should Blaise continue to follow the only path she's ever known, or cut and run?

About the Author


Bestselling author Lynne Ewing began writing as a way to unwind from her job with the Los Angeles County Department of Public Social Services. She is the author of Drive-By, an ALA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers and a New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age; Party Girl, an ALA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers, an Amazon Editor's Choice, and a Teen People recommended read; and the bestselling Daughters of the Moon series, which was also an ALA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers. She lives in Washington, DC.

Praise For…


“An eye-opening, heart-pounding look at survival on the streets.”
Booklist

“Fast paced...for fans of Allison van Diepen’s Snitch…and Greg Takoude’s When We Wuz Famous”
— School Library Journal

“A fast-paced adrenaline-rush.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062206886
ISBN-10: 0062206885
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: February 11th, 2014
Pages: 288
Language: English