The Digger and the Flower (Hardcover)

The Digger and the Flower Cover Image
By Joseph Kuefler, Joseph Kuefler (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
On hand as of Jun 17 11:45pm
(Picture Books)

Description


From the acclaimed author/artist of Beyond the Pond and Rulers of the Playground comes a breathtaking new book with a powerful message about the environment, perfect for fans of Peter Brown’s The Curious Garden and Kadir Nelson’s If You Plant a Seed.

Each day, the big trucks go to work. They scoop and hoist and push.

But when Digger discovers something growing in the rubble, he sets in motion a series of events that will change him, and the city, forever.

"This story contains bold graphic illustrations and a wonderful message about the environment," proclaims Brightly.com in their article "18 Must-Read Picture Books of 2018."

Praise For…


“Kuefler imbues the text with the heart and soul of the best storytime fare… One couldn’t hope for a better tale of rebirth and regeneration”

“Kuefler’s simply written and beautifully illustrated tale has a powerful message about the importance of the environment...A wonderful, inspiring tale, perfect for read-alouds.”


“The image of the clunky piece of construction equipment tenderly caring for the fragile plant gives the story charm, and so do its strong, simple images.”

Praise for RULERS OF THE PLAYGROUND: “Children struggling with tyrants (or the impulse to dictate) will find both laughter and comfort in Kuefler’s playground, full of recognizable experiences, faces, and feelings....winning satire for the jungle-gym set.”

Praise for RULERS OF THE PLAYGROUND: “[A] playful lesson in camaraderie and social etiquette”

Praise for BEYOND THE POND: “A witty, auspicious debut…[with] echoes of Jon Klassen and Wes Anderson.”

Praise for BEYOND THE POND: “[A] tale of transformation and wonder…reminiscent of Sendak’s Max and his Wild Things.”

Praise for BEYOND THE POND: “This lovely picture book is a tribute to imagination and the wonder in everyday spaces…will resonate with young readers.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062424334
ISBN-10: 0062424335
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: January 23rd, 2018
Pages: 48
Language: English