Sunhead (Hardcover)

Sunhead By Alex Assan, Alex Assan (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Alex Assan, Alex Assan (Illustrator)
$26.99
Not on hand, usually available within 1-5 Days

Description


In this queer coming-of-age teen graphic novel by breakout talent Alex Assan, high schooler Rotem feels herself growing apart from her friends in a million inexpressible ways. But an unexpected connection with another student makes her feel more herself than ever before. This incisive and stunningly gorgeous debut is perfect for fans of Bloom and Gender Queer.

Rotem is a Sunhead, a fan of the international smash hit Sunrise series of books and films. She’s obsessed with the story’s love interest, Edmund, and no one else gets it. But all that changes when she befriends Ayala, a shy classmate and avid book lover who’s as swept away by the romance as she is. The two become fast friends, but as their deep connection grows stronger, Rotem starts to wonder: What exactly draws her to this story?

Alex Assan’s debut, Sunhead, is an earnest coming-of-age graphic novel that explores how the stories we love help us understand our friendships, our relationships, and ourselves.

About the Author


Alex Assan is a queer comic artist with a BA in illustration from Glyndwr University in the UK. He loves vampire fiction, musical theater, puppetry, and his big dog named Troy. Find him at alexassan.com.



Alex Assan is a queer comic artist with a BA in illustration from Glyndwr University in the UK. He loves vampire fiction, musical theater, puppetry, and his big dog named Troy. Find him at alexassan.com.

Praise For…


“Assan’s uniquely affective art style complements a story beautifully devoted to subtextual queerness and the imaginative space fandom provides queer teens. Every glance, bit of dialogue, and scene transition is imbued with meaning, using visual storytelling to its absolute highest potential, and warm cloud-puffs and wordless panels in tones of coral and salmon give Rotem’s imaginings of the books a sense of both whimsy and yearning.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

“A charming LGBTQIA+ coming-of-age story that captures the ordinary angst of teenagers. A recommended purchase for libraries with demand for inclusive graphic novels.” — School Library Journal



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063113589
ISBN-10: 0063113589
Publisher: HarperAlley
Publication Date: May 7th, 2024
Pages: 256
Language: English