The Education of Ivy Blake (Paperback)

The Education of Ivy Blake Cover Image
$7.99
Email or call for price.

Description


* "Like Anne of Green Gables and many other neglected creative girls before her, Ivy is irresistible, and readers will be rooting for her all the way."--School Library Journal, starred review
 
Ivy has loved living with her best friend, Prairie, and being part of Prairie’s lively, happy family. But now Ivy’s mom has decided to take her back. Ivy tries to pretend everything is fine, but her mom’s neglect and embarrassing public tantrums often make Ivy feel ashamed and alone. Fortunately, Ivy is able to find solace in art, in movies, and from the pleasure she finds in observing and appreciating life’s small, beautiful moments. And when things with her mom reach the tipping point, this ability gives her the strength and power to push on and shape her own future.
In this uplifting companion to Prairie Evers, shy, introverted Ivy must find her footing when her reckless mom turns her world upside down.


"Hand to fans of the quiet, resilient, and realistic heroes in Pam Muñoz Ryan's Esperanza Rising or lovers of the novels of Eva Ibbotson." --Booklist

"An uplifting coming-of-age story that foregrounds both the loss and the luster involved in creating an identity all one's own."--Kirkus Reviews

Perfect for readers of Joan Bauer's Close to Famous and Lynda Mullaly Hunt's One for the Murphys!

About the Author


Ellen Airgood (www.ellenairgood.com) is the author of Prairie Evers, which was a Bank Street Best Book and has won numerous state awards, and the adult novel South of Superior. She lives in Grand Marais, Michigan.

Praise For…


* “Ivy’s insistence on relying on herself ensures that readers will feel that she’s earned it. Like Anne of Green Gables and many other neglected creative girls before her, Ivy is irresistible, and readers will be rooting for her all the way. . . . A thoughtful and sweet story about finding the family you need in order to be your best self.”—School Library Journal, starred review
 
“Airgood’s characters are multilayered and compelling, and Ivy’s story of triumph offers realistic hope and optimism. . . . Hand to fans of the quiet, resilient, and realistic heroes in Pam Muñoz Ryan’s Esperanza Rising or lovers of the novels of Eva Ibbotson.” —Booklist

“Doesn’t shy away from Ivy’s emotional turmoil . . . quietly satisfying. An uplifting coming-of-age story that foregrounds both the loss and the luster involved in creating an identity all one’s own.”—Kirkus Reviews


Product Details
ISBN: 9780142426807
ISBN-10: 0142426806
Publisher: Puffin Books
Publication Date: June 7th, 2016
Pages: 256
Language: English