Recipe for Disaster (Paperback)

Recipe for Disaster Cover Image
$16.00
On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
On hand as of Jun 21 11:45pm
(Fiction)

Description


Stacey Ballis cooks up a delicious broth of a novel about a woman whose perfect life falls apart in spectacular fashion--leaving her with a house to restore, an antique cookbook (but no cooking talent), and one very unhappy schnauzer. For fans of Jen Lancaster, Jennifer Weiner, and Emily Giffin.

To an outside observer, Anneke Stroudt is a mess--her shirts are stained, her fingernails stubby, her language colorful. But, despite her flaws, Anneke's life is close to perfect. She has a beautiful historic house to restore and a loving fianc who cooks like a dream.

Until Anneke's charmed existence falls apart when she loses both her job and her future husband in one terrible day. In need of a new start, she packs up her disgruntled schnauzer and moves into her half-finished home, where she throws her pent-up frustration--and what little savings she has--into finishing the renovation.

But at the first step into the house's overhaul, Anneke is sidetracked when she discovers a mysterious leather-bound book, long hidden away, filled with tempting recipes and steamy secrets from Gemma Ditmore-Smythe, the cook for the house's original owners. Slowly, with the help of some delicious food and Emma's life lessons, Anneke begins to realize that, just like a flawless recipe, she's been waiting for the right ingredients to cook up a perfect life all along...

"With the perfect blend of humor and heart, Ballis's writing is powerfully honest and genuinely hilarious."--Jen Lancaster

INCLUDES RECIPES

About the Author


Stacey Ballis is the author of ten foodie novels: Inappropriate Men, Sleeping Over, Room for Improvement, The Spinster Sisters, Good Enough to Eat, Off the Menu, Out to Lunch, Recipe for Disaster, Wedding Girl, and How to Change a Life. She is a contributing author to three nonfiction anthologies: Girls Who Like Boys Who Like Boys, Everything I Needed to Know About Being a Girl I Learned from Judy Blume, and Living Jewishly.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780425265505
ISBN-10: 0425265501
Publisher: Berkley Books
Publication Date: March 3rd, 2015
Pages: 480
Language: English