To Tell You the Truth (Hardcover)

To Tell You the Truth Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now--Subject to Availability
On hand as of Oct 25 2:43am
(Middle Grade Fiction)

Description


An utterly charming, “gorgeous” (Booklist) Southern-voiced middle grade novel about a young girl and the adventure she embarks upon to prove her Gran’s stories were true. Perfect for fans of The Unforgettable Guinevere St. Clair and Three Times Lucky.

Trixy needs a story, fast, or she’s going to fail the fourth grade—that’s a fact. But every time she sits down to write, her mind is a blank. The only stories she can think of are Gran’s, the ones no one else ever believed but Trixy gulped down like sweet tea. Gran is gone now, buried under the lilac bush in the family plot, so it’s not like Trixy’s hurting anybody to claim one of those stories as her own, is she?

That stolen story turns out to be a huge success, and soon everybody in town wants Trixy to tell them a tale. Before long, the only one left is the story she vowed never to share, the one that made Gran’s face cloud up with sadness. Trying to find a way out of this tangled mess, Trixy and her friend Raymond hit the road to follow the twists and turns of Gran’s past. Maybe then Trixy can write a story that’s all her own, one that’s the straight-up truth.

About the Author


Beth Vrabel is the author of many acclaimed books for young readers, such as To Tell You the TruthCaleb and Kit, the Pack of Dorks series, and The Newspaper Club series. She lives in New England with her family and dreams of someday running a coastal Maine bed-and-breakfast (ignoring the fact that she cannot cook and isn’t a great hostess). Other lies Beth tells herself include that she can clap to a beat, can resist eating an entire jar of Nutella, and is not obsessed with her backyard chickens. But Ruth Bader Chicksburg knows better. Visit her at BethVrabel.com.

Praise For…


* "This cathartic narrative nimbly explores love, grief, revival, and what makes a tale true."
— Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

* “This is an outstanding book . . . a page turner. Disparate story lines weave a multidimensional tale that ties together perfectly. Trixy’s and her grandmother’s voices will remind readers of Louisiana from Kate ­DiCamillo’s Louisiana’s Way Home, echoing a similarly fearless, independent, and spunky attitude.”
— School Library Journal, Starred Review

* "As the richly drawn characters, past and present, are introduced, their storylines and their lives become interwoven. . . Difficult topics and dramatic revelations are softened by the leisurely pace and the humorous interactions . . . Poignant and uplifting.
— Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

"Told in beautiful, dreamy prose accented with Southern drawls . . . The book imparts a gentle wisdom on friendship and family, grief and grace, but it shines in how it stresses the beauty and importance of stories, both spoken and silent. A gorgeous reminder of the power of stories to shape our worlds and each other."

 
— Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9781534478596
ISBN-10: 1534478590
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 8th, 2021
Pages: 272
Language: English