To Tell You the Truth (Hardcover)

To Tell You the Truth Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now--Subject to Availability
On hand as of Jul 26 11:43pm
(Middle Grade Fiction)

Description


An utterly charming Southern-voiced middle grade novel about a young girl and the adventure she embarks upon to prove her Gran’s stories were true. Perfect for fans of The Unforgettable Guinevere St. Clair and Three Times Lucky.

Trixy needs a story, fast, or she’s going to fail the fourth grade—that’s a fact. But every time she sits down to write, her mind is a blank. The only stories she can think of are Gran’s, the ones no one else ever believed but Trixy gulped down like sweet tea. Gran is gone now, buried under the lilac bush in the family plot, so it’s not like Trixy’s hurting anybody to claim one of those stories as her own, is she?

That stolen story turns out to be a huge success, and soon everybody in town wants Trixy to tell them a tale. Before long, the only one left is the story she vowed never to share, the one that made Gran’s face cloud up with sadness. Trying to find a way out of this tangled mess, Trixy and her friend Raymond hit the road to follow the twists and turns of Gran’s past. Maybe then Trixy can write a story that’s all her own, one that’s the straight-up truth.

About the Author


Beth Vrabel is the award-winning author of A Blind Guide to Stinkville, A Blind Guide to Normal, and the Pack of Dorks series. She can't clap to the beat or be trusted around Nutella, but indulges in both often, much to the dismay of her family. She lives in the Dallas, Texas area.

Praise For…


"As the richly drawn characters, past and present, are introduced, their storylines and their lives become interwoven. . . Difficult topics and dramatic revelations are softened by the leisurely pace and the humorous interactions . . . Poignant and uplifting.
— Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

* “This is an outstanding book . . . a page turner. Disparate story lines weave a multidimensional tale that ties together perfectly. Trixy’s and her grandmother’s voices will remind readers of Louisiana from Kate ­DiCamillo’s Louisiana’s Way Home, echoing a similarly fearless, independent, and spunky attitude.”
— School Library Journal, Starred Review


Product Details
ISBN: 9781534478596
ISBN-10: 1534478590
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 8th, 2021
Pages: 272
Language: English