She Lover of Death (Kobo eBook)

She Lover of Death Cover Image
$26.00
Available Now

Description


Since Boris Akunin's first Erast Fandorin novel, The Winter Queen, published in Russia in 1998, the series has become a worldwide phenomenon, selling over 15 million copies around the world. Random House published The Winter Queen in translation in 2003, selling over 60,000 copies.

Akunin is one of the most widely read novelists in Russia and is much-admired in the global literary community. He traveled to New York in May 2016 for the PEN World Voices Festival. The New Yorker did a major profile of him in 2012, and Ruth Rendell was among his notable fans.

The Winter Queen was a New York Times "Notable Book" and a finalist for the CWA Silver Dagger.

Akunin is credited with reinventing crime fiction in Russia, tapping a new market in the post-Soviet years for popular genre fiction with a literary edge.

With She Lover of Death, Akunin's American audience will be able to read a new Fandorin mystery to follow The State Counselor and Coronation.

The State Counsellor was adapted into a 2005 film-one of the most expensive ever made in Russia-by director Filipp Yankovsky.

Set in late 19th-century Russia, these novels feature hero Erast Fandorin, a dashing diplomatdetective-with a neat mustache, blue eyes, and prematurely white hair-who stands out as a moralist in an era of decadence and corruption and who has a penchant for Japanese culture (Akunin previously translated from Japanese for a living).

For fans of Frank Tallis, Alan Furst, and other savvy historical thriller writers. The influence of Arthur Conan Doyle and Agatha Christie can also be felt in Akunin's novels.

She Lover of Death is the eighth Fandorin mystery. Fourteen Fandorin novels have been published in Russian.

Akunin is said to have decided “to try his hand at detective novels because his wife liked to read them, but was so embarrassed to be seen with the books on the metro that she would cover them in brown paper” (New Yorker).