Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters: An Evening with Author Andrew Morton

Royal watchers and fans of "The Crown" won't want to miss this chance to spend time with famed biographer Andrew Morton, talking about his new book, Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters. Mr. Morton will be in conversation with Nena Ivon, Book Group Leader, former Fashion and Special Events Director at Saks Fifth Avenue, Chicago, and active blogger at nenasnotes.com. This is a ticketed event, and all ticket holders will receive a copy of Elizabeth & Margaret and an exclusive link to our live Crowdcast event. Purchase your ticket HERE.

"Thoroughly researched and well written, the most comprehensive account of the complex relationship between the Queen and Princess Margaret to date. Fascinating and enjoyable."-- Sarah Bradford, New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth

About the Book: Perfect for fans of "The Crown," this captivating biography from a New York Times bestselling author follows Queen Elizabeth II and her sister Margaret as they navigate life in the royal spotlight.

They were the closest of sisters and the best of friends. But when their uncle Edward Vlll decided to abdicate the throne, the dynamic between Elizabeth and Margaret was dramatically altered. Forever more Margaret would have to curtsey to the sister she called "Lillibet." And bow to her wishes.

Elizabeth would always look upon her younger sister's antics with a kind of stoical amusement, but Margaret's struggle to find a place and position inside the royal system--and her fraught relationship with its expectations--was often a source of tension. Famously, the Queen had to inform Margaret that the Church and government would not countenance her marrying a divorcee, Group Captain Peter Townsend, forcing Margaret to choose between keeping her title and royal allowances or her divorcee lover.

From the idyll of their cloistered early life, through their hidden war-time lives, into the divergent paths they took following their father's death and Elizabeth's ascension to the throne, this book explores their relationship over the years. Andrew Morton's latest biography offers unique insight into these two drastically different sisters--one resigned to duty and responsibility, the other resistant to it--and the lasting impact they have had on the Crown, the royal family, and the ways it adapted to the changing mores of the 20th century.

About the Author: Andrew Morton studied history at the University of Sussex, England, with a focus on aristocracy and the 1930s. Morton has written extensively on celebrity including biographies of Tom Cruise, Angelina Jolie, and Madonna, as well as the British royal family. He has written bestselling biographies of the Duke and Duchess of Windsor, Prince Andrew, and Meghan Markle. His #1 New York Times bestselling biography Diana: Her True Story won international acclaim, described by critics as a "modern classic" and "the closest we will ever come to her autobiography."

We offer two ticket options:

1. Distant Attendee. ($32.45)This ticket admits one household to the event and includes a copy of Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters at 10% off the cover price. This ticket also includes US domestic shipping. Your book will be shipped on or just after 3/30/21.

2. Local Attendee. ($27.45)This ticket admits one household and includes a copy of Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters at 10% off the cover price. Ticketholders must pick up their copy from at The Book Stall, and can do so any time after 3/30/21 during our normal hours, 10 AM to 5 PM, Monday - Saturday. Pick-up must be within 20 days of the event.

Event date: 

Tuesday, March 30, 2021 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Event address: 

Ticketed online event
Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781538700464
Availability: On Our Shelves Now--Subject to Availability
Published: Grand Central Publishing - March 30th, 2021

Perfect for fans of The Crown, this captivating biography from a New York Times bestselling author follows Queen Elizabeth II and her sister Margaret as they navigate life in the royal spotlight.

They were the closest of sisters and the best of friends.