I've Got My Mind Set on Brew: An Indie Bookstore Day Happy Hour

Join us for an afternoon of Romance and Brews to celebrate Independent Bookstore Day! Author Stephanie Jayne will be at the store with a few of her fellow Romance authors for a meet & greet while we serve up some frosty refreshments! Stop by for a brew and say hello to romance author Kelly Farmer, romance and mystery author Sharon Michalove, and historical romance and mystery author Felix Alexander. Copies of their titles will be available to be signed! Ms. Jayne will be signing her new book, I've Got My Mind Set on BrewA down-on-her-luck craft beer brewer and her privileged new boss clash as they work together to save a quirky brewpub in this enemies-to-lovers workplace rom-com. Fans of Kate Clayborn and Mariana Zapata will be raising a pint to this crisp, satisfying, slow-burn romantic novel.

More About the Book: Kat Malone is left cash-strapped after a job loss and a bad breakup (pro tip: never offer to pay living expenses for a freeloading poetry major) when she discovers a surprising new career path: craft beer brewer. When the brewpub is sold, the new owner places his light-on-experience son in charge of the pub. Ryan is as basic as a pale lager and aims to turn quirky Resistance into a run-of-the-mill sports bar. Worse, he won’t consider Kat for the position of brewer’s assistant—the job she’d been promised by the previous owners.

Despite clashes between Kat and Ryan, he confides that Resistance is in financial trouble and that drastic changes will be needed if the pub has any hope of survival. Forced to collaborate, Kat realizes Ryan isn’t as bland as she assumed—he might even be exactly what she’s been craving. But just as Ryan promises Kat a true partnership in the face of his father’s opposition, Kat is offered the opportunity of a lifetime. “Marrying the beer” used to be Kat’s only goal, but can she craft a brew for her life that allows her to have it all?

Danielle Jackson, author of Accidentally in Love, says, “Chicago's craft beer scene comes vividly to life in this unique enemies to lovers workplace romance. Stephanie Jayne showcases the trials and tribulations of making ends meet, following a new path, and unexpectedly falling in love."

More About the Authors: Stephanie Jayne loves to write relatable characters striving to make their mark on the world as they fall in love in the process. When not crafting quirky love stories, she's often found playing video games or fangirling over romance books with a book club. She lives in the greater Chicago area with her multitalented creative husband and two persistent cats.

Kelly Farmer, author of the new holiday read, It's a Fabulous Life, has been writing romance novels since junior high. The stories have changed, but one theme remains the same: everyone deserves to have a happy ending. She loves telling tales with a touch of snark and a lot of heart. When not writing, she enjoys being outside in nature, quoting from Eighties movies, listening to all kinds of music, and petting every dog she comes in contact with. All of these show up in her books. Kelly lives in the Chicago area, where she swears every winter is her last one there.

Felix Alexander is a Mexican-born, American-raised novelist and poet of Mexican and Puerto Rican descent. Being third-generation military, after a grandfather and three uncles who served in the Korean and Vietnam Wars, respectively, Alexander is proud of his service in the U.S. Army and grateful for his experience. After his honorable discharge from the U.S. Army, he embarked on the long and arduous journey of a writer. He lives in the Chicagoland area--to be close to his children--a son and daughter. He volunteers to promote literacy among youth with Villament Charities and the VM Mag (vmmag.org). In the evenings he journeys through the portals of his extensive, personal library. His books include the Aiden Leonardo mystery series and the Labyrinth of Love Letters historical romance series. 

Sharon Michalove writes romantic suspense and traditional mystery as well as being a published historian. After growing up in suburban Chicago, she spent most of her life in a medium-sized university town, working as an academic professional as well as teaching history. Sharon moved back to Chicago in 2017 and started writing fiction seriously in 2018, publishing her first book in 2021. She is a member of Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, and Chicago-North Romance Writers. Currently, she is president of the Sisters in Crime Chicagoland Chapter and an at-large board member of MWA Midwest. Her Global Security Unlimited series is a finalist for the Chanticleer International Book Award for Genre Series.

Event date: 

Saturday, April 27, 2024 - 3:30pm to 4:30pm

Event address: 

The Book Stall
811 Elm Street
Winnetka, IL 60093
I've Got My Mind Set on Brew: A Novel By Stephanie Jayne Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781639106493
Availability: On Our Shelves Now--Subject to Availability
Published: Alcove Press - April 9th, 2024

A down-on-her-luck craft beer brewer and her privileged new boss clash as they work together to save a quirky brewpub in this enemies-to-lovers workplace rom-com, perfect for fans of Rachel Lynn Solomon’s The Ex Talk.