Lunchbreak! With Lori Rader-Day in Conversation with Louis Bayard

Attention Mystery lovers--spend your Lunchbreak with The Book Stall, as we welcome two of our favorite writers: Lori Rader-Day and Louis Bayard for a free noontime program.  They'll be talking about Lori's new novel, Death at GreenwayPublisher Weekly calls it a "richly nuanced mystery," and adds, "Rader-Day nicely evokes the isolation and dislocations of people in WWII Britain while revealing her characters' complexities. Despite the many allusions to Agatha Christie's life and work, she eschews an artificially neat conclusion. Fans of both Christie and Rader-Day will relish this."  This event is free but you must register HERE.

About the Book: From the award-winning author of The Day I Died and The Lucky One comes a captivating suspense novel about nurses during World War II who come to Agatha Christie's holiday estate to care for evacuated children. 

Bridey Kelly has come to Greenway House--the beloved holiday home of Agatha Christie--in disgrace. A terrible mistake at St. Prisca's Hospital in London has led to her dismissal as a nurse trainee, and her only chance for redemption is a position in the countryside caring for children evacuated to safety from the Blitz.

Greenway is a beautiful home full of riddles: wondrous curios not to be touched, restrictions on rooms not to be entered, and a generous library, filled with books about murder. The biggest mystery might be the other nurse, Gigi, who is like no one Bridey has ever met. Chasing ten young children through the winding paths of the estate grounds might have soothed Bridey's anxieties and grief--if Greenway were not situated so near the English Channel and the rising aggressions of the war.

When a body washes ashore near the estate, Bridey is horrified to realize this is not a victim of war, but of a brutal killing. As the local villagers look among themselves, Bridey and Gigi discover they each harbor dangerous secrets about what has led them to Greenway. With a mystery writer's home as their unsettling backdrop, the young women must unravel the truth before their safe haven becomes a place of death .

About the Author: Lori Rader-Day is the Edgar® Award-nominated and Anthony and Mary Higgins Clark award-winning author of Death at Greenway , The Lucky OneUnder a Dark SkyThe Day I DiedLittle Pretty Things, and The Black Hour. She lives in Chicago, where she is co-chair of the mystery readers’ conference Murder and Mayhem in Chicago and the immediate past national president of Sisters in Crime.

About the Interviewer: In the words of the New York TimesLouis Bayard “reinvigorates historical fiction,” rendering the past “as if he'd witnessed it firsthand.” His acclaimed historical novels include The Pale Blue Eye, soon to be a Netflix motion picture starring Christian Bale, the national bestseller Courting Mr. LincolnRoosevelt's BeastThe School of NightThe Black Tower, and Mr. Timothy, as well as the highly praised young-adult novel, Lucky Strikes. A New York Times Notable author, he has been nominated for both the Edgar and Dagger awards, and his story, “Banana Triangle Six,” was chosen for The Best American Mystery Stories. His reviews and articles have appeared in the New York Times, the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times and Salon. An instructor at George Washington University, he is the chair of the PEN/Faulkner Awards and was the author of the popular "Downton Abbey" recaps for the New York Times.

Event date: 

Tuesday, October 19, 2021 - 12:00pm to 12:45pm

Event address: 

Death at Greenway: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062938046
Availability: On Our Shelves Now--Subject to Availability
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - October 12th, 2021

"Irresistible... a Golden Age homage, an elegantly constructed mystery that on every page reinforces the message that everyone counts." –New York Times Book Review