Poster Girl: In-store Author Talk with Veronica Roth

The Book Stall is thrilled to welcome Veronica Roth, bestselling author of the Divergent series, to discuss her new book, Poster Girl. Veronica Roth has crafted a pulse-racing saga about the search for hope in the wake of devastation and for truth in a climate of fear. She keeps you guessing until the very end.

 This is a ticketed event. Options include a one ticket/book purchase, or a ticket that admits two and includes one book. CLICK HERE to purchase your tickets!

More About The Book: Poster Girl is a dystopian mystery about the search for a missing girl and the ill effects of mass surveillance on society. The book is a focused and finely-tuned work of speculative fiction, but Roth’s intelligence seems almost limitless. Perfect for readers of the inimitable Margaret Atwood and Naomi Alderman’s bestselling novel The Power. In Poster Girl, Roth delivers a searing examination of privilege through the lens of one young woman, born in a dystopian-future Seattle, who benefited as a child from an oppressive regime.

As a child, Sonya Kantor was the face of The Delegation, an oppressive surveillance state where “undesirable” conduct brought severe punishment, while sanctioned behavior offered rich rewards. Posters of a proud Sonya went up everywhere, her steely gaze staring out over the government’s slogan: "What’s right is right." Years later, after a violent revolution, Sonya is serving a life sentence in a political prison the size of a few city blocks called The Aperture. That is, until Alexander Price, a low-level bureaucrat working for the new government who betrayed Sonya's family, makes her a deal. If she can track down a young girl The Delegation “reassigned” to a different family, Sonya will be paroled. Now, Sonya finds herself digging through The Delegation’s and her family’s darkest secrets. To earn her freedom, and to save the lost child, she must delve deeper into the past than she ever wanted to… because when you’re the poster girl of the oppressors, absolution may be the hardest thing to find.

Smart, scary, and beautiful, Poster Girl is a book for the dystopic present.

More About the Author: Veronica Roth is the #1 New York Times best-selling author of the Divergent series (Divergent, Insurgent, Allegiant, and Four: A Divergent Collection) and the Carve the Mark duology (Carve the Mark, The Fates Divide). Divergent received the 2011 Goodreads Choice Award for Favorite Book, Publishers Weekly’s Best Book of 2011, and was the winner of the YALSA 2012 Teens’ Top Ten. The trilogy has been adapted into a blockbuster movie series starring Shailene Woodley and Theo James. Carve the Mark published in January 2017, debuted at #1 on the New York Times bestseller list, and remained on the list for eighteen weeks. The Fates Divide also debuted at #1 on the New York Times bestseller list. She is a board member of YALLFest, the biggest YA book festival in the country, and YALLWEST, its sister festival. She currently lives in Chicago with her husband and their dog, Avi.

 

Event date: 

Sunday, October 16, 2022 - 5:30pm

Event address: 

811 Elm Street
Winnetka, IL 60093
Poster Girl By Veronica Roth Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780358164098
Availability: On Our Shelves Now--Subject to Availability
Published: William Morrow - October 18th, 2022

#1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth tells the story of a woman's desperate search for a missing girl after the collapse of an oppressive dystopian regime...and the dark secrets about her family and community she uncovers along the way—for fans of Anthony Marra and Lauren Beukes.