Laurel Recommends

Staff Books: 

Jackaby Cover Image
$9.95
ISBN: 9781616205461
Availability: On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - August 25th, 2015

Just like Sherlock Holmes--if Holmes solved mysteries dealing with paranormal creatures and Watson was a plucky British runaway girl--all set in a little late 19th-century New England village. Both whimsical and smart!


Truthwitch: A Witchlands Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780765379283
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Teen - January 5th, 2016

The first in a new epic fantasy adventure series with an amazingly imaginative and thought-out world. Plus, there's and amazing female friendship that you don't often see in fantasy. A great addition to the genre!


Everything, Everything Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780553496642
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - September 1st, 2015

Madeline can't leave the house--her mother tells her she has an illness that will kill her if she goes outside. But when a boy moves in next door, Madeline want more. Witty narrative, charming romance, illustrations, charts, and graphs make this an enjoyable quick read.


The Orphan Queen Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062317391
Availability: On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - April 5th, 2016

The Orphan Queen and The Mirror King are a stunning fantasy duology about a princess who must reclaim her Kingdom and save everyone from a dangerous magiccalled wraith. Perfect for fans of Graceling, Shadow & Bone, and Truthwitch.


The Lifeboat Clique Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062393968
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 1st, 2016

Mean Girls meets Life of Pi! A compulsively readable dark comedy that is unexpectedly insightful. When a handful of popular kids - and Denver - are washed to sea on a lifeboat, survival becomes about more than just staying alive.


A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte Holmes Novel #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062398901
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 1st, 2016

Calling all Sherlock fans! The first book in a series following the harrowing adventures of the famous duo's descendants at a prep school in New England. Witty dialogue and fascinating relationships make this a must read!